Distinguished Scientific Contributions Award, American Psychological Association, 1980.
Distinguished Contribution Award, International Society for Research on Aggression, 1980.
William James Award, American Psychological Society, 1989.
Elected to the National Academy of Medicine, 1989.
Distinguished Lifetime Contributions Award, California Psychological Association, 1998.
Healthtrac Award for Distinguished Contributions to Health Promotion, 2002.
Lifetime Achievement Award, Western Psychological Association, 2003.
Award for Outstanding Lifetime Contribution to Psychology, American Psychological Association, 2004.
McGovern Medal for Distinguished Contribution to Health Promotion Science, 2004.
Honorary Fellow, World Innovation Foundation, 2004.
Distinguished Achievement Alumni Award, University of Iowa, 2005.
Award for distinguished health behavior research, American Academy of Health Behavior, 2005.
Everett M. Rogers Award, Norman Lear Center for Entertainment and Society, 2007.
Grawemeyer Award, Grawemeyer Foundation, 2008.
Interamerican Psychology Award, Interamerican Society of Psychology, 2009.
Lifetime Career Award, International Union of Psychological Science, 2012.
Sustained Distinguished Contributions Award, Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies, 2015.
National Medal of Science, bestowed by President Obama, 2016.
The Malcolm Knowles Memorial Self-Directed Learning Award, presented posthumously February 2022 at the 35th annual International Self-Directed Learning Symposium.